What to start next

I’ve finished the knitting on my Follow Your Arrow Shawl so I am now in the enviable position of deciding what project to start next. I love starting something new and I have been barely resisting the handspun camel I purchased. However, I’m having a hard time finding a good fit for the yarn. I know I want to make a small cowl so I can wear it against my face. My first instinct was lace. I liked the look of this cowl for a while.

Anna Cowl by Barb Fritz

I started knitting it but the yarn is too thick and thin to show the lace, leaving me back at square one. Now I’m pouring through stitch dictionaries for something that can add interest to a cowl but still show up. Right now, my current favorite is the seaweed stitch pattern. With only 100m of yarn and a small project, I’m not swatching. By the time I’ve worked a repeat of the pattern I will know if it works or not. I don’t normally work with handspun so I’m at a bit of a loss with how to show it off to it’s best advantage. If this stitch pattern doesn’t work the cowl will be stockinette stitch. I know that will work.

