Moth-proof Storage

I know its still winter but I’m starting to think about how I will safely store all my yarn and handmade items over the summer. Last summer, moths ate holes in so many of my hand-knits. The thought of another year like last makes me want to cry. So I will not let it happen again. Let me detail my plan for going overboard and keeping my wool safe.

Currently I have moth killing sachets in with all of my woolens but that was not enough. I’m thinking this year I’ll use the sachets with an overabundance of plastic. I’m thinking vacuum storage bags with the sachets inside. I want to be sure that any eggs on the wool in the bag gets killed, hence the sachets. Then the vacuum bags will prevent any moths from finding the wool. Once I have my wool all safe in the vacuum bag, I will put it in a moth-proof storage bag. If the vacuum beaks I want to make sure everything is safe. I’ve never owned a vacuum bag and my research suggests that there are many brands with varying levels of quality. Currently I’m leaning towards John Lewis’s brand. John Lewis is known to have a good return policy.  

At this point I would like to ask for input. I’ve only dealt with moths for once. I could really use some stories of triumphing over the little devils and some good darning tutorials.

2 thoughts on “Moth-proof Storage

Leave a comment