Picking up Stitches

I hate picking up stitches. I have such a difficult time making sure that I pick them up in the right ratio to be both even and the correct number of stitches. When I don’t have to worry about getting a certain stitch count I’m fine. For those of you who don’t know my pain this is a tutorial from Knit Picks on picking up stitches.

Right now I’m trying to persuade myself to stop procrastinating and pick up stitches for the second sleeve on my Rocio Cardigan. My gauge is different than the designers so her ratio for picking up stitches won’t work for me. Instead, I mark the halfway point and check to see if I have half the stitches by that point. In other words trial and error. I believe the winning ratio on the first sleeve was 2 stitches per 3 rows with an occasional extra stitch thrown in closer to the top of the sleeve. I’m going to stop typing now and get to work.